7th Grade Reflection

When I first arrived in August, I expected more work in and out of school than in 6th grade, but a never expected the life that awaited me. I soon realized that homework would consume my life; I’d cram it in from 4:30 to 10:30 everyday after school (not to mention the homework I did in the mornings and at lunch). By October my life was terrible, just a slur of homework misery. I was stuck in a perpetual loop of eat, sleep (just a little), school, homework… homework… homework… study.

After a lot of trial and error, I fell into a routine that worked well enough. Math right when I get home, Texas History before dinner, study after dinner, sleep just enough, wake up and do English, Science after athletics, Latin during lunch. Although it’s not exactly a well-oiled machine, this schedule managed to drag me through the year.

With the year so close to an end, everyday seems to take a lifetime. No matter how good this year was, I’m ready for summer and all of its pleasure. If I had to do it over again, I’d come more mentally prepared in August, and more ready to work hard. My grades suffered from my cockiness toward my classes, particularly Math, at one point my grade in Math was ten points below that of last year. My advice to upcoming seventh graders is to come mentally prepared for at least three times the work of Sixth grade, and to have a homework schedule that works well. Good luck!

20140513-211601.jpg
Digital image. N.p., n.d. Web. 13 May 2014. .
What are n.p. & n.d.? | View in list Edit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *